Tony’s: Meaningful Simplicity

Have you ever received a gift from a partner, a boyfriend, or a friend that draws a smile to your face? And I am not talking extravagant gifts here. Rather…a simple gift or what I call a gift riddled with ‘meaningful simplicity.’

To me, those small presents are far more precious. They so often tell us about the thought someone places behind them. They manage to tell us that the other cares, even when faced with the humblest of means. I must confess…I try to put effort behind my thoughts about others and to show them how much they mean to me. But I fail miserably sometimes with coming up with a good idea for a gift. It really is an art to listen to others’ conversations and pick up things, issues, items that excite the other person…that bring meaning and purpose to the other individual.

I have one such item that I hold dear. It sits on my drafting desk, immediately next to my bed. I was staring at it the night before last and it brought a smile to my face. Why? Because it reminds me of the person who gave it to me. I can here him saying, “It’s nothing much or in the least bit extravagant,” but with this goofy smile on his face. And that is why it is so precious and dear to me – it’s the smile behind it. So many nights, nights where I was stressed out from class, I spent gazing at it. Each time, it brought me peace of mind and managed to crack a smile across this mug of mine.

Thanks handsome for my special gift. I’ve enjoyed it and nothing could be better.

dsc00383.jpg

This is a cool paperweight that Spidie gave me for Christmas. It’s a representation of a hand-drawn room schematic on drafting paper that has been crumpled up. And it goes perfect on my drafting table!!

~ by Tony on May 15, 2007.

7 Responses to “Tony’s: Meaningful Simplicity”

  1. Very unique and so appropriate!

  2. Seems my first message did not post.

    The gifts made by my childrens hands when they were small clutter my desk and make me smile daily. They are priceless to me.

  3. Amen to that!
    I have collection of little mawkish items that are dear to me. I doubt even the givers remember giving them as they seemed trivial at the time.

  4. As soon as I saw it, I got that goofy smile on my face and thought of you… kinda like my little Canadian that is on my desk… Love you hon!

  5. That is such a cool paperweight. Where did you find it Spider? I want to get me one. 😀

  6. Being so far apart, it’s nice [and important] to have little things around the house to remind you of one another… I’m so happy that you two found each other! xoxo

  7. What a cool, thoughtful gift. You are so right, it’s the little things that mean so much more!

Leave a Reply

 
